New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

headlow
Hatchling

United Kingdom
233 Posts

Posted - 25/10/2009 :  12:25:57  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I was handling my '09 Mexi Black this morning and noticed a little white tip at the end of his tail. I would post a photo but it would be near impossible to get a good shot of it.

Could he maybe have retained a bit of old skin during a shed?

The tip of the tail doesn't really feel any different, but I'm still relatively new to this game and I'd just like to make sure.

He's shed twice with me, and both times they were perfect complete sheds.

1.0.0 Mexican Milk
0.0.1 Mexi Black
0.0.3 Corns
0.1.0 Western Hognose

magneticblue
Kingsnake Forum Admin

United Kingdom
1511 Posts

Posted - 25/10/2009 :  19:30:37  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
It could be retained shed. Try wetting it with cotton wool or something similar and have a go at pulling it off. If it is retained shed it could eventually cut off blood supply and he could lose the tip of his tail.

1.1.0 Arizona mountain king (Sylar and Claire)
0.1.0 Blotched king ( Jasmin)
1.1.0 Guyana red-tail boa (Hercules and Athena)
1.0.1 children (Alfie and BUMP)

Go to Top of Page

headlow
Hatchling

United Kingdom
233 Posts

Posted - 25/10/2009 :  19:56:01  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Cheers I'll give that a go. Thanks

1.0.0 Mexican Milk
0.0.1 Mexi Black
0.0.3 Corns
0.1.0 Western Hognose
Go to Top of Page

Gingerpony
SerpentSeven's Evil Twin

United Kingdom
726 Posts

Posted - 25/10/2009 :  19:59:47  Show Profile  Click to see Gingerpony's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
i agree with Mart, it really does need sorting asap as the tail tip really will go nectrotic and drop off...... a regular member recently posted on TCS that this had happened to their cornsnake, as it's something that's easily identified and solved i was quite appalled!

cornsnakes, ratsnakes, Dumerils boas, BCO hybrids, Sinder Hypo boas, Day Geckos