The King Snake Forum
The King Snake Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
 All Forums
 King Snake Posts
 King Snake - General Keeping information
 Mites

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert EmailInsert Image Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]

T O P I C    R E V I E W
headlow Posted - 16/07/2009 : 22:16:00
As I'm new to this I have a quick question regarding snake mites. I have one snake, I don't know anyone else who has a snake, and therefore don't handle any other snakes.

Is it still possible for my snake to catch mites?
10   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
bluerain Posted - 21/07/2009 : 07:34:26
As already said most usual way for mites to come into your collection, is on a new arrival! However substrates can carry them too, i usually put my aspen into the microwave for a few mins before use. First signs your snake may have them is, they will spend alot of time in their water bowls, and go off feed!! If you look really closely at an infected snake , the mites can actually be seen crawling on the surface of their scales late at night!!
They hide in the substrate and viv furnishings during the day, and usually only come out to suck the snakes blood at night, so best chance of spotting them is then..often you will find dead ones in the water dish!!
Hopefully though, with luck you will never have to deal with them, they are hard to get rid of once they take up residence!!
magneticblue Posted - 17/07/2009 : 17:43:27