New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

headlow
Hatchling

United Kingdom
233 Posts

Posted - 16/07/2009 :  22:16:00  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
As I'm new to this I have a quick question regarding snake mites. I have one snake, I don't know anyone else who has a snake, and therefore don't handle any other snakes.

Is it still possible for my snake to catch mites?

1.0.0 Mexican Milk
0.0.1 Mexi Black
0.0.3 Corns
0.1.0 Western Hognose

lee2308
Kingsnake Forum Admin

United Kingdom
1609 Posts

Posted - 16/07/2009 :  22:44:03  Show Profile  Click to see lee2308's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
no,unless you handle other snake in rep shops ect,i think they might pick something up from grass too.Oh and second hand decor,vivs can harbour eggs.

1.0 dumeril boa,0.1 bci boa,1.0 royal python,1.0 mbk kingsnake,1.0corn,1.2 chinese water dragon,0.0.1 bearded dragon

Go to Top of Page

Triangulum

United Kingdom
569 Posts

Posted - 16/07/2009 :  23:27:04  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Unfortunetly, Mites can crop up from anywhere, Regardless if you bring in a new snake or handled one with Mites. They usually harbour in substrates such as bark chips. I have been keeping snakes for years and (touch wood) never had an incident. It's nothing to worry about, it only is, when you have it im afraid.

Take it easy,
Scott

Go to Top of Page

lee2308
Kingsnake Forum Admin

United Kingdom
1609 Posts

Posted - 17/07/2009 :  00:03:16  Show Profile  Click to see lee2308's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
thats right scott,i forgot about substrates,so yes you can still get them but the risk is lower if you use dry substrate like aspen or beech chippings,i have heard of mites being found in orchid bark which should be baked first.

1.0 dumeril boa,0.1 bci boa,1.0 royal python,1.0 mbk kingsnake,1.0corn,1.2 chinese water dragon,0.0.1 bearded dragon

Go to Top of Page

headlow
Hatchling

United Kingdom
233 Posts